Microsoft DirectX 9.0


Identifies flags for the generic parental levels defined in the DVD specification.


typedef enum tagDVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL {
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_8 = 0x8000,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_7 = 0x4000,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_6 = 0x2000,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_5 = 0x1000,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_4 = 0x0800,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_3 = 0x0400,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_2 = 0x0200,
    DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_1 = 0x0100


DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_8 is the most restrictive level and DVD_PARENTAL_LEVEL_1 is the least restrictive. The way in which the levels are interpreted or used varies from country/region to country/region. In the United States and Canada, the levels correspond to the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) rating levels as shown in the following table.

Parental level Meaning
1 The rating is G, General.
3 The rating is PG, Parental Guidance Suggested.
4 The rating is PG-13, Parental Guidance Suggested, not recommended for those under 13.
6 The rating is R, Restricted.
7 The rating is NC-17.

This enumeration is used in the IDvdInfo2::GetTitleParentalLevels method.

See Also